A Dragon is not just a dragon

01Mar09

I am awfully sorry, dear readers, but I have to roll my eyes sometimes. I found this blog post where the author Jason Cass is talking about the skill, the magic software and the importance of knowledge. Is an article worth reading I leave to you to decide, I however do congratulate Jason for putting it into words, BUT! excuse me dear Jason… , the skill of publishing does elude you.
In the middle of elaborating the issue where he touched the subject of the “mystical dragon scenes” dear Jason embedded a photo of a Dragon. He speaks of 3D software and it’s usage and illustrates it with a photo of a Dragon, a statue of 19th century famous Ljubljana’s Dragon Bridge. Connection? Meaning? Relevance? Is there any? I don’t see one.

The free and uncensored voices of blogging are a bliss. I am in great favor of hearing and reading a myriad of different opinions. However I cannot emphasize enough the importance of relevant publishing. When picking the material to be posted on blog one doesn’t realize the responsibility he has. Not only to the audience, but to himself.

What do I think of Jason now, seeing his awkward publishing at work? Well… not much. He lost on being read again? Most likely.

Dragon is not just a dragon. Every source you stumble upon Internet or elsewhere has a story, an original context and a meaning. Nothing is self-evident. When you try to respect that, the blogging of the contents can only get richer in scope and deeper in understanding. Respect, research, understand.



2 Responses to “A Dragon is not just a dragon”

  1. Well, I actually agree that context is EVERYTHING. It is the vehicle by which a visual piece derives meaning for both the viewer and the creator, though the two may not be similar interpretations. Having said that, I myself may be guilty of not providing that context in my own work, however I am aware of this concept…just not very good at exposing it to the readers.

    • 2 112mirabela

      I agree, nicely put. However I have to remind you: in every work -meaning artwork- you provide a context, especially in graphic design. If your Hand & Head is doing fine and you are an extraordinary talent, the thinking of carefull tunning of the meaning of a design piece would be the most important in creating. If you are not such a good designer, the context will be either foggy or empty or simply blandly lightweight. Surface.


Leave a Reply

